Do No Harm: The Coalition of Americans for Research Ethics and StemCellResearch.org were launched on July 1, 1999 coinciding with the release of a statement on human embryonic stem cell research, entitled “on Human Embryos and Stem Cell Research.” The statement was released in a public event on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. by four representatives of the group of signers. Nigel Cameron, Ph.D., Advisory Board Chairman, The Center for Bioethics & Human Dignity; Frank Young, M.D., Former Commissioner, U.S. Food and Drug Administration; Edmund Pellegrino, Ph.D., Director, Center for Clinical Bioethics, Georgetown University; and Richard Doerflinger, Associate Director of Policy Development, National Conference of Catholic Bishops. In addition to the founding members of Do No Harm, the original signatories was also released, including among others C. Everett Koop, Former Surgeon General of the United States; Robert George, McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence, Princeton University; C. Christopher Hook, Director of Ethics Education, Mayo Clinic Graduate School of Medicine; and Arthur Dyck, Saltonstall Professor of Ethics, Harvard University.

Additional Resources:

Founding Statement of Do No Harmdnh

(Full Statement)


Signatories of Statement


Other Friends

Founding Members of Do No Harm

Original Press Release Announcing Launch of Do No Harm and StemCellResearch.org